Best Tweet Ever

While I was up in Washington for the Onion Man Triathlon, I sent out a tweet on Twitter the night before my race saying “I wonder if @Chrissiesmiles ever gets race day jitters?”

If you don’t know, @Chrissiesmiles is Chrissie Wellington. She has won the Ironman National Championships in 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2011.

Every time I do a race, it doesn’t matter if it’s my first race or my 25th race, I always get race day jitters the night before. I’m lucky if I get 4 – 5 hours of sleep. When I did the Ogden Marathon, I got 2 1/2 hours of sleep before running 26.2 miles, thanks to the race day jitters.

So, in Walla Walla, the night before the race, when I was trying to fall asleep, it made me wonder if Chrissie ever got race day jitters. I mean, she’s a pro! She’s won the championship 4 times. I didn’t think much of my tweet after I sent in.

After I finished the Onion Man (well, finishing is questionable {see race recap}), I checked my phone to try and call home and I saw that Chrissie replied to MY TWEET!!! She actually read my tweet AND REPLIED!!! I honestly started to tear up. It made my day!

Chrissie responded saying “Of course I do! We all get nervous – it’s a sign of how much we care and how much we have invested. I have just tried to develop ways to control the nerves and stop them from derailing my performance.”

It gave me a little reassurance that it’s ok that I still get race day jitters. Even as I re-read her tweet, I got a little choked up. I admire Chrissie SO much.

3 thoughts on “Best Tweet Ever”

Leave a Reply

