T minus 3 Days

T Minus 3 days until my first marathon. I just wanted to chronicle some of my thoughts leading up to the big day. This is the biggest race I’ve done so far. I’m getting excited, but I’m getting nervous.

I think the thing I’m most worried about is the mental part of running 26.2 miles. I’ve ran 20 miles in 3 1/2 hours. I can run 6 more miles. I’m just worried about the mental part. That’s what usually gets me in races any ways.

There is a 2 mile gradual hill at mile 13. I’m a little worried about that. Hopefully it won’t be as bad as I anticipate it to be.

I talked with my coach on Saturday and I’m going to take plenty of gels with me and eat them every 30 – 45 minutes and drink LOTS of water. At mile 18 they’re going to have fruit. I plan on snagging a banana and eating a banana really quick.

I thought I’d go to the store tomorrow and get a big poster board and help my mom and dad make a sign. I think on one side it’d be cute to have it say “This parade SUCKS!” and on the other side have it say “26.2 miles because 26.3 would be CRAZY!!!” Lol.

I’m super excited for the finish line because they’re going to be giving free massages to the full marathoners. You can bet your butt I’ll be getting a free massage.

One downer is the race doesn’t start until 7:00 a.m., but I have to be up there by 4:45 a.m. to catch a bus to the start line at 5:00 a.m. It’s going to take MAYBE 20 minutes to get to the start line. I’ve got to get up at 3:30 a.m. to make it to the bus by 4:45 a.m. Ugh. I’m SO not a morning person. I highly doubt I’ll get sleep Friday night. There’s a great chance I’ll be a zombie until it comes time to run and then adrenaline will kick in.

Good luck to all of my friends that are running the Ogden Marathon as well!

3 thoughts on “T minus 3 Days”

  1. Good luck this weekend. Looks like you figured out the background and theme options too. The widgets are fun to play around with if you are bored. Have a great run.

  2. LOl!! Love the sign idea. I’m going to steal them for my kids. I’m writing this after your race, hope all went well!

Leave a Reply

