My Kona Dream

I had a few minutes of spare time this morning, so I got on the Ironman website and started looking around. I started out by looking at the 70.3 series and then ventured to the Ironman National Championship website.

Ideally, I would LOVE to qualify for Kona one day. I think that is every triathletes dream. But, realistically, I don’t know if that will ever happen. I could always enter the lottery to race over in Kona, but as I was reading the information about the lottery, only approximately 100 spots are open for the lottery and over 70,000 people enter the lottery. Chances are slim to none that I would get in on the lottery.

So, if I can’t race over in Kona, I want to volunteer or I’d be happy spectating the race. How awesome would that be?

So, my plan is to go over there in 2015 and either volunteer or spectate. Why 2015 you ask? Because that year the Ironman National Championships is being held on my birthday! What an awesome birthday present to myself that would be!

In the meantime, I’ve decided I want to do the Ironman St. George 70.3 next year and do the Ironman Cour d’Alene in 2014.

Leave a Reply

