Running Pace

Thanks to Twitter, I follow and read ALOT of blogs. I love reading about other people’s running. I love to see that I’m not the only one who struggles with their running or triathlons or stuff like that.

Now, I realize that everybody’s running pace is different and it is different depending on circumstances (there is a specific word for this, but can’t remember the right word I want to use). But, you know what bugs me? It really bugs me when someone says on their blog “I wasn’t running my strongest, I wasn’t running as fast as I should have, I was running pretty slow, etc. My pace was an 8:30 mile or my pace was a 7:30 mile, etc.” That REALLY bugs me.

Holy crap! Do you know what I would give to be able to run that fast?!?!?! I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to run that fast. I strive to be able to run that fast. I thought I was doing REALLY good when in my last Sprint triathlon, I ran 3.1 miles at a 9:35 pace. But according to some people, that must be slow, if there 8:00 mile pace is slow. I mean, they’ve never said that to me and I’m sure they don’t mean it like that, but when I read their blogs, to me, that is how I feel when I read that.

It thoroughly amazes me that my coach, when he competed in the Ironman National Championships last year in Kona, after swimming 2.4 miles, biking 112 miles, he ran 26.2 miles and never went slower than an 8:00 mile pace. I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to be able to do that, but then I’m not 6′ 7″ tall either.

One day. All in good time, I’m sure my speed will improve. Right now, I’ve just got to focus on being able to run 26.2 miles on May 19th.

7 thoughts on “Running Pace”

  1. I am with you! I am definitely a lot slower than that and when people post about being slow at the pace I just want to scream! Ahhh! Thanks for posting about it! Good luck with your first full!

  2. I totally understand you! Sometimes when I read blogs of fast runners I feel disappointed in myself for not even being able to break a 30 minute 5k, even though I’m practically an infant in the running world (just started running this past winter)! You are awesome for being able to even complete a triathlon, nonetheless run the 5k at that pace!! Way to go 🙂

  3. Just to let you know I think 9:35 pace over 5K is pretty good! I know how you feel when people refer to 8:00 mile as being slow – makes me feel super slow. Good luck on your first marathon.

Leave a Reply

