Jinxed

I think I’m jinxed. Every time my friend Christy comes in to town to run and I plan on running with her, I either get sick or injured or something. 😦

It all started last year when I entered a competition on Facebook to run the Moab Canyonlands 1/2 Marathon. Christy put in for the lottery and got in, so I entered a competition that Salt Lake Running Co was doing to give away an entry so I could run it with her. I won the competition and got free entry in to the race…and got shin splints. Boo.

Then last August, Christy came in to town and we did do the Legacy Midnight 1/2 Marathon together and the Tour De Donut the next day together, but so far, that’s the only race we’ve done together.

Christy & me at the Tour de Donut.

So, this year, Christy came in to town to visit her brother and she and I signed up for a 10k, and of course a few days before the 10k, I came down with a terrible chest cold. So, all I could do was go up and root her on.

Last but not least, the Salt Lake City Marathon and 1/2 Marathon was this weekend. Christy came down and did the 1/2 marathon. I was going to run it with her, but, oh wait, Friday night/Saturday morning, I woke up puking my guts up!

Seriously! What is up with this? I just want to be able to run a couple of races with one of my few friends that runs and likes to run. Is that too much to ask?

Leave a Reply

