A Free Marathon? What?!?!

I was thinking of going on a cruise in October or November this year. How fun would that be? But then, I remembered, I signed up for a free marathon this year down in Las Vegas. A free marathon? Say whaaaaaaaat?

I can’t remember how I heard about this race, but I’m pretty excited about it. You have to pay $50 to reserve your spot in the marathon (they do offer a 1/2 marathon as well), but as soon as you cross the finish line, you are handed a check for $50.

I was looking at the map of the course of the marathon and the race actually starts and finishes at the same place I ran my 2nd leg of the Las Vegas Ragnar last year. It’s kind of a cool venue. It’s a HUGE venue.

The only thing I’m worried about is the weather. It gets mighty hot down in Las Vegas…no matter what time of year. At least more hot than I’m used to. The Las Vegas Ragnar last year was in late October and I remember on my first leg of the Ragnar, it was SO hot, I almost got sick. So, I’ll have to really make sure I’m hydrated and have lots to drink and eat.

So, I’ve decided instead of going on a cruise, I’m going to have fun in Vegas. Even though I have family down in Las Vegas, I want to stay at a hotel on the Strip, maybe even fly down there if I can afford it.

Are any of my Twitter friends doing this? I think it would be fun to have a bunch of friends to run this with. I can’t believe I’m going to run 2 full marathons in one year!!! Crazy!

Leave a Reply

