Embrace It!

I just started reading this novel called “Something Borrowed” by Emily Giffin. Within the first chapter of the book, I was like, the main girl in this book is living my life, but she’s in New York City and I’m in Salt Lake City.

Yes, it was made in to a movie. No, I haven't seen the movie yet.

What I’ve learned about the book so far is Rachel (the main character) lives in NYC, her best friend has always had everything better than her (clothes, boyfriends, etc.). She hasn’t really had any long term relationships. The only thing this character seems to have that I don’t is a job she enjoys and she’s not home living with her parents.

But, what I’m learning as I read this book is I just need to REALLY embrace my singleness. Granted, it’s easier said than done, but I’m REALLY going to work on it.

Step 1? I REALLY need to move out of my parents house. I get a raise at the end of the month (not much), but I’m going to redo my budget and see if I can afford to move out on my own. If not, I’m to the point where I’ll look for roommates. The bad thing is, I don’t know anybody that needs a roommate, and it just makes me nervous moving in with people I don’t know. But then, it would push me out of my “circle” and that would be a way to meet new people.

Step 2? I was watching Undercover Boss today and there was a single lady on there and she was talking about how she is getting ready to go on a single’s cruise. I thought how freakin’ fun would that be?!?! I think it’d be a BLAST! So, I’m starting to research that. What a better way to get out there and meet new people than go on a single’s cruise? Plus, it’d be doing something I’ve always wanted to do.

So, I started researching it. If after race season is over and I can afford it, I’m going to go on a cruise this fall. I saw a 4 day Baja Mexican cruise for $269! That’s not bad at all. It’s a lot less expensive than I expected. One question though. Because it’s a Baja Mexican cruise…do you have to have a passport? (Sorry if this is a stupid question, but I haven’t traveled much, let alone a cruise.) Have you ever been on a cruise? Have you ever been on a single’s cruise? What do I expect?

With all of this said, I’m just really trying to embrace the whole single thing.

3 thoughts on “Embrace It!”

  1. If you plan to get off the ship, yes, you need a passport. If you are in a group, you are not likely to ever be asked about it. But if a problem arises (problems come UN-invited don’t forget) you are safer with, than without.

Leave a Reply

