When I Learned to Love Running

Up until three years ago, I was never a fan of running. In middle school every other Friday or so, we’d have to run around the field. I HATED it. So, as expected, three years ago when I first started to train for triathlons, out of swimming, biking and running, the one event that I dreaded was running. I hated it. I felt like I was no good at it.

Everybody said you would get a runner’s high and for the longest time I never got the runner’s high. I wondered what the hell they were talking about. Everybody always told me that eventually you would learn to love running. I always wondered when that day would come.

The only thing that kept me running was I knew I had to run/walk 3.2 miles in my first triathlon and come hell or high water I was going to finish this triathlon. Ideally I wanted to be able to run all 3.2 miles, but I knew that wasn’t going to happen.

When I first started training, I told myself that I would run for 50 paces and then walk for 50 paces, etc. At the beginning, those 50 paces seemed to take forever. Slowly I was able to push myself to 75 paces and then 100 paces. Then I decided that I would run for one whole song on my iPod and then walk for an entire song. The first time I tried that, I was trying to run to the song Carry On Wayward Son by Kansas.That song is like 7 minutes long! Why the hell did it have to be that song? Needless to say, I didn’t run for that entire song. I just couldn’t do it.

I remember on one of the days I was running, I ran 1.2 miles without stopping. I was SO proud of myself. That is the farthest I had ever run at one time without stopping. Granted, most of it was downhill, but still, I ran 1.2 miles without stopping! That is the day I learned to love running. That was the day that I saw EXTREME improvement and progress.

I remember running in to the house and telling my dad I had run all the way from 400 North and 400 East to the 1200 North and 200 West without stopping! I can’t express my excitement. That night I was so excited to run the next day to see if I could run even farther without stopping.

From that day until present I have always been pushing myself to be a better runner. That is the day I fell in love with the sport. Every time I get out and run, I appreciate the sport even more. When someone talks about getting the runner’s high, I know EXACTLY what they’re talking about, because Lord knows I’ve experienced it. There might be days that I complain about running, but when it comes right down to it, I absolutely love it.

While I’m training for the Ogden Marathon, there are days that I feel like I’m a terrible runner, but after I get home from that long run on Saturday, I feel like I’ve accomplished something I never thought I’d be able to. Then I get this overwhelming feeling of, man, I can’t wait to get my training schedule for the next week from B.J. to see how far he is going to have me run.

6 thoughts on “When I Learned to Love Running”

  1. There will always be bad runs and plain old ugly runs! We need it all to put things into perspective and appreciate the good and great runs! Whenever I have a tough run I just have to remember there is good one around the corner and remember how far I’ve come! always remember where you were and where you are and love the improvement!! Keep on running!

  2. LOVE this post. I am right there with you. There are days I hate it. but all it takes is passing that point faster than before or feeling better than the last time or not stopping where you normally do and you are on top of the world and looking forward to trying it again.

Leave a Reply

