What Was I Thinking?!?!?!

What in the world was I thinking? A couple of weeks ago I signed up for my first triathlon of the season. It’s the Telos Timp Tri down in Orem, Utah. It’s only a Sprint triathlon and it’s one of the first triathlons I ever did.

I just wanted to start doing some races and putting some stuff on my calendar. This is a fun race to do. It’s a challenging course as well.

What I didn’t take in to consideration is I’m in the middle of marathon training. This Saturday is the Telos Timp Tri AND on my training schedule for this Saturday is to run 16 miles!!!! Oh my hell, what was I thinking? So, this Saturday, not only do I get to run 3.1 miles, bike 12 miles and swim 350 yds, but I also get to run 16 miles!!! Good grief!

I’m going to count the 3.1 miles in the triathlon as part of my 16 miles. So, when I get home from the triathlon around 11:00 – Noon, I get to run 13 more miles. Yay!! If I hadn’t already paid for the race, I would totally not do it & just do the running, but this race cost me $45. I’m going to get my moneys worth and do the race.

The only disappointing thing is, I have a friend that lives down in Orem that I don’t get to see very often. I was going to hang out with her after the triathlon, but I have to come home and run some more.

I will just leave you with some pictures of me doing this race last year.

This is actually from 2 yrs ago. Right before the start.

Coming in from the run and heading for the bike. This is a reverse tri where the run is first and the swim is last.

7 thoughts on “What Was I Thinking?!?!?!”

  1. Training for double races is one of the most challenging and fun experiences. You juggle extra miles and other things and have two races to worry about instead of just one! I’m sure you will rock it, and even if you don’t get all 16 miles in, you will still get some great training in that day.

Leave a Reply

