Salt Lake City 10 Miler Race Recap

This last Saturday was my first official race of the season. I had a bib # and everything. My friend Sylvia (previously my boss) and I did this race. We are both training for the Ogden Marathon and we knew this week would be one of our taper weeks where we would only have to run 10 miles, so for a change of scenery, we signed up for this race.

The race started up at the top of Emigration Canyon at Little Dell Reservoir and we had to run down the canyon and we ended at This Is the Place monument park.

The elevation of Emigration Canyon.

I was already a little nervous for the race because when I run downhill, I have a heavy heal strike, which brings on shin splints if I’m not careful. My shins were already aching prior to this run. I’m currently working on not having such a heavy heal strike, but it’s tough to get in the habit of leaning in to your run and taking a smaller stride.

To start off, it was FREEZING at the starting line. The day before the race, I woke up to 3 inches of snow in my front yard. The snow was gone later that day, but I knew there would be snow at the starting line of this race and it was going to be cold.

Me & Sylvia pre-race. It was 28 degrees!!!

Sylvia & I dressed warm for the race, but we saw people there in shorty shorts and tank tops. I don’t know how they didn’t freeze. Granted, about 1/2 way through the race, I shed my jacket & showed off my IRC shirt, but before that, I was freezing.

Of course the race didn’t start on time. I haven’t been in a race that has EVER started on time. One day I’ll find one of those races. The first 2 miles of this race were rough. I was SO not mentally prepared for it. They were all uphill. I ended up walking a good portion of the first 2 miles. It took me 24 minutes to complete the first 2 miles of the race. I was NOT happy. I was cursing the majority of the first 2 miles. The only thing that kept me going was remembering a thought I’ve seen a couple of times that says “You’re faster than those sitting on the couch”. THAT is what kept me going.

I was disappointed in the aide stations on this run. They were unpredictable. It wasn’t like they were every 2 miles, or every 3 miles. The first one was at the top of the last hill at 2 miles, then I didn’t see another water station until mile 5, then I didn’t see one until mile 8 1/2. So, I guess they were about every 3 miles. I guess that’s not too bad. But, I passed up the first water station, ’cause I didn’t need water at the time, but by the time I got to mile 5, boy did I need water, but the little cups were only 1/2 full. C’mon! I need more water than that. By mile 8 1/2, I was in dire need of water.

Even though this was only a 10 mile run, I had to stop and walk a couple of times. My legs were just hashed from running so much and doing weights during the week. My quads were just done for. At one point while I was walking, a girl came up to me and said “C’mon, we’re almost there (this was at mile 6). I saw you at the Layton 1/2 Marathon, you can do this!” I proceeded to tell her that my shins ached and she said she was pregnant and had broken knees. Needless to say, I had NO more room to complain, I started running.

My parents were along the course. They’d pull over every so often and ring cowbells loud & clear for everyone to hear. It was nice to hear that on the course. It was a nice little pick-me-up that every runner needed to hear. It was awesome.

FINALLY, the finish line came in to view. I had to climb one last hill to get to the finish. It took everything I had to run that last hill, but I wasn’t going to walk in to the finish line, by hell, I was going to run…and I did. I finished in 1:43:28, which is a 10:20/mile. I finished in 20th place in my age group, which had 30 people in it. My friend Sylvia finished in 1:28:00. She was speedy!

I was disappointed in the finish line. The closer I got to the finish, I saw people with bananas and snacks and couldn’t wait to eat a banana. That just sounded good. Plus, it would refuel me for the last 2 miles I had to run once I got home (12 miles total on the training plan for Saturday). I got to the finish line and there were NO bananas left, they were out of gatorade and were almost out of water. 😦 Boo. I found it disappointing that the music they had at the finish line was like slow dance music too. 😦 I don’t want to hear that at a finish line. I wanted to hear the same music I heard at the starting line (that wasn’t very loud. Had a hard time hearing it), which is 80s butt rock!

By the time I got to the finish, I was just done-for. I was ready to go home. I picked up my t-shirt, got me some water, took a quick picture with Sylvia at the finish line and we headed home.

Me & Sylvia at the finish.

Would I do this race again? Maybe, only because it was cheap. It was only $25 to register. But I don’t know if I’d even do it then.

4 thoughts on “Salt Lake City 10 Miler Race Recap”

  1. You look so cute! Good for you for toughing it out, but you need to take care of your poor shins. My mouth fell open when I read about the pregnant girl with broken knees… that almost shamed ME into going running lol

  2. Isn’t it funny how the words of strangers during a race can help push you along. Sometimes I want to smack them, most times I appreciate it. I hope one day I can give encouragement to those behind me. Now, I’m so slow I can barely acknowledge the people behind me. And to put your time into perspective 10:20/mile is awesome. I would LOVE to run any race at that pace. Be proud of yourself, you deserve it!

    1. Exactly! There are times when someone gives me encouraging words & in my mind I’m saying “yeah right. You’re doing better than I am…”. But deep down those words help me, so I try & pay it back when I’m racing and always give kind words to people.

Leave a Reply

