Weekly Workout Recap

My workouts have gone pretty well this week, but as the week is coming to a close & we’re getting ready to start the weekend, I almost feel like the workouts have gone downhill. Honestly, I feel guilty that I’ve missed a couple of workouts.

Wednesday I was supposed to swim, but the pool I go to is a community pool, so there were a million Scouts there trying to earn their merit badges, plus there were swimming lessons, plus they have this big blow up toy in the water called a Wibit that is like an obstacle course people can play on. So, I thought ok, no biggie, I’ll just swim Friday morning instead. I woke up this morning and dear Lord, the allergies sure have hit me hard this year. I could barely breathe this morning. My last thought while trying to breathe was swimming. So, once again, I thought I’d put it off until this evening. We’ll revisit this in a minute.

Thursday night, I had to ride my bike for 1 1/2 hours. I got a late start on the bike ride, so I didn’t get done with the bike until 8:45 p.m. I was supposed to run 6 miles after I got done with the bike. Now, I don’t mind running at night (I secretly pretend I’m running a Ragnar Relay), I have all the safety gear, but as I was running up the street to start my run, I just got this feeling that I need to turn around and go home. My neighborhood and the area I run usually isn’t well lit and I was out later than normal. I know last year, we had alot of ladies mugged while out running. It didn’t matter if they were out in broad daylight or not. So, I listened to my gut, turned around and went home.

Today (Friday), instead of running the scheduled 4 miles, I was going to run the 6 miles I missed out on Thursday night. I got off work earlier and went to a job interview, then came home and headed out to run 6 miles. I got 2 miles in to the run and felt sick and weak. If I stopped and walked, I was ok, but I just KNEW I wasn’t going to make it 6 miles. I don’t know why I wasn’t feeling good. It was a little warmer today than normal, and I hadn’t drank as much water as I normally do, but I was sweating, so I know I wasn’t dehydrated. I ended up calling my dad and having him come pick me up. So, I came home and rested until 6:00 p.m., when I would’ve been able to go swimming. I woke up at 6:00 p.m. to go swimming and still felt yucky. So, I decided to just rest the rest of the night. Ugh. How bad I want to go running!!!

Tomorrow I’m supposed to run 16 miles to prepare for the Ogden Marathon. I tell ya, come hell or high water, I’m going to run that marathon and I’m going to run the 16 miles tomorrow. I’ve got to be up at 6:00 a.m. to get ready & eat some breakfast & head out. I will have plenty of water at my disposal, so hopefully the run will go well.

Do you ever feel guilty if you miss a workout? How do you deal with it?

1 thought on “Weekly Workout Recap”

  1. Yes, I’ve ALWAYS felt guilty. I made a deal with myself years ago that if I don’t feel like working out, I’ll at least go to the gym. Once I make it inside and I STILL don’t feel like it, I’m allowed to go home. It only happened once, and I had the flu. Squats were not happening that day lol

Leave a Reply

