Migraines – What a Joy!

Lucky me, I’ve been blessed with migraines. Could you hear the saracasm in that first sentence? Sadly migraines can be genetic and boy do they run in my family. This is what I’ve felt like for the past week:

My dad has had migraines since he was a little kid, as well as my aunt, my cousin & my great-grandma. Sadly, my nieces (age 10 & 8) get migraines as well.

Thankfully I don’t get migraines on a consistent basis. Every once in a while I will just get a migraine and it will last DAYS. Sometimes, it gets to the point where I end up calling the doctor and go in and get a shot and then it goes away. Right now I can’t really afford the co-pay, so that’s not an option for me right now.

This particular headache I’ve had since Thursday mid morning. It was a constant headache, but finally by Monday, it just comes and goes. I just wish it would go. Haha!

Today it occurred to me that I think it might have to do with my job and sitting and staring at a computer screen for 8+ hours a day. I think the strain on my eyes by just staring at this computer screen is killing me. I just got my eyes checked and got a new prescription, so I don’t think it’s my prescription. I just, I don’t know.

There are just times where I want to lay in a pitch black room with an ice pack on my head. Sadly, that’s not gonna happen. I have to go to work and pay my bills somehow.

Do you deal with migraines/headaches? What do you do to treat them?

Leave a Reply

