Popovers – Oh the Memories

Because my mom is from Las Vegas, when I was a kid, all of our family vacations were spent down in Las Vegas. We would split up time between my grandma & grandpa’s house & my godparents house. When we would stay at my grandma & grandpa’s house, one morning, my grandma would always make popovers for breakfast. She’d make a quadruple batch! The first time I had popovers I was HOOKED!!! They are my favorite.

Some of my favorite memories with my grandma is standing in the kitchen (always on this little stool in the corner) helping her make popovers and seeing dozens and dozens come out of the oven.

The older and more frail my grandma got, her popover making skills declined. They would no longer “pop” for her. So, my Uncle Jim or I would make them. For some reason, my uncle and I are the only ones who have the special touch to make them pop. My dad has tried making popovers, using the same exact recipe, and the same exact pans I use, but they don’t pop.

Well, normally, on Sunday, my family has muffins for breakfast. It’s been like this since I can remember. Last night I was talking with my dad and he said he didn’t have muffins for the morning. Since we haven’t had popovers in a loooooong time, I offered to make popovers. I woke up bright and early at 8:00 a.m. so my parents could have breakfast before they headed off to church. I made popovers and this is how they turned out:

Yummy!!!

I made 2 dozen of them. All 24 of them popped. When I say they popped, that means they hollowed out. Because of the quick and drastic drop of temperature when making them, and because of the ingredients, they hollow out.

Do you have a favorite food/recipe that brings back memories?

Popovers

3 eggs
1 tbsp melted butter
1 cup flour
1 cup milk
1 tsp salt

Mix the wet ingredients together in a mixing bowl. In a separate bowl mix the flour and salt. Combine the dry ingredients with the wet ingredients. Don’t overbeat. It’s ok if it’s lumpy. Use a 1/4 cup measurer and pour the batter in to a greased 12 cup muffin tin. Bake in a preheated 450 degree oven for 15 minutes. Decrease heat to 350 for 15 more minutes. Serve piping hot. My family likes to put butter, honey and/or jam on them and eat them. I prefer just butter. If you try this recipe, please let me know how you like it.

6 thoughts on “Popovers – Oh the Memories”

Leave a Reply

