Swimming Breakthrough

I had a SUPER-DUPER breakthrough tonight on my swimming. I’m so excited. I’ve been struggling with my swimming lately. My goal has been to be able to swim 25 yds in 30 seconds and keep that pace throughout my entire workout.

Tonight, my workout was to do a 200 swim, 200 kick, 200 pull (warm up), then do 10 x 100 with 30 second rest and then do 20 x 50 with 20 second rest, then a 200 cool down.

My 10 x 100 were taking about 2:10 – 2:15 for each 100. My 20 x 50 were taking about 1:04 consistently. Then, I had this genious idea to change up my breathing pattern.

Normally, when I would swim, I would breath every stroke (every time my left arm was straight in front of me). I’ve been practicing my bi-lateral swimming (alternating between breathing on your right & left arm). About 1/3 of the way through my 50’s tonight, I decided to change it so I would only breath every other time my left arm was out in front of me (so every other stroke).

When I breathed every other stroke, I finished every 50 yds at exactly 1 min!!! Yay me! I’ll admit it. It was tough. About 3/4 of the way through each set is when I’d start to get tired, but I pushed myself and made it happen. Towards the end, it ended up taking me 1:03 – 1:04 to do 50 yds, but I can attribute that to my arms just being tired.

I can’t wait to get back in the pool! I finally feel like I’m making SERIOUS progress! Yay!

4 thoughts on “Swimming Breakthrough”

  1. That is great!! It really took me a bit to breath bilaterally, but now I LOVE it – I also think it helps me swim straighter.. that is a great time! Way to go!

Leave a Reply

