Date Night

For a while now, my date night with Brandon has consisted of going to his place, and watching movie, after movie, after movie. I TOTALLY understand that he has a hard time going out in public with LOTS of people because that can get his anxiety going. I get that. But at the same time, it gets my anxiety going if I’m stuck at home all the time. No can do.

So, we’ve started trying to incorporate other activities in to our dates. It’s been hard because I’ve been out of the dating scene for quite a while. I don’t know what people do on dates.

Well, he works up at the capital in their cafeteria and now that session is over, they had a party at the bowling alley, so Brandon and I went. It was SO MUCH FUN. It would’ve been more fun if Brandon would’ve bowled, but he isn’t a big fan of bowling, but it was nice to see him interact with others.

While we were bowling, it reminded me how much I miss bowling. I’ve never been SUPER good at bowling, but it’s always been an activity I like. When I was in high school, I even went to the lengths of getting my own bowling ball, shoes and bag.

I was surprised that my scores were so good the other night. Game 1: 68 pts (ok, not so good). Game 2: 119 pts (I beat everybody by like 20 pts). Game 3: 91 pts. My average ended up being about 93. I’m sure the fact that I was one of the last sober people there helped my score. 😉

Then, Sunday, while I was in the shower, I had the most GENIOUS idea of what Brandon and I could do that night for our date. On my way out to his house, I picked up the stuff to color Easter eggs!!! I know it sounds childish, but it was so much fun!

At first, Brandon wasn’t sure about it. He gave me a hard time about it, but I said “tough noogies, we’re gonna do it”. Later on he admitted that he had alot of fun. At one point, he got a basting brush out and was painting his egg. He was much more artistic than I was.

He doubted my using the mugs as containers for the colors.
Brandon using a basting brush to paint his egg.
The finished eggs.

I did find out while we were coloring eggs that Brandon has never been to Hogle Zoo! The man is in LOVE with penguins and hasn’t been to the zoo. When he gets back from going on vacation, I’m taking him to the zoo.

With all this being said, if anybody has any date ideas, please share. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Date Night”

  1. Utah has LOTS of fun things you can see outdoors wise if you like the mountains, but if you are on pinterest there are websites dedicated to cheap dates that are awesome.. are you on there? If not I’ll shoot you some of the websites- lots of fun ideas. I think doing cute things like dying eggs ALWAYS turn out fun!!

Leave a Reply

