Attitude Adjustment

This last Saturday I needed a MAJOR attitude adjustment. I woke up feeling pretty good. I headed up to the pool ’cause I was going to swim 2 miles and then come home and ride my bike. I was feeling sorry for myself that I wasn’t going for my long run on Saturday like everybody else on Twitter was.

I asked my mom if she wanted to go to the pool with me and she said no. That really pissed me off. Why? I can’t tell you how many times my mom has said “If you ever need someone to go swimming with you, I’ll go. I can’t do the freestyle, but I can swim on my back.” Another reason it made me mad that she wouldn’t go with me is because my mom and I don’t have the best of relationships. My mom and dad have always said that I’ve never had any use for my mom since the day I was born. So, I go to make an effort to do something with her, etc., and she turns me down.

So, off to the pool I went, in an ornery attitude, getting ready to get my swim on. I felt pretty good with this swim. So far, I was making pretty good time. 1500 yds in to my swim, one of the lifeguards stoops down and asks if I can switch lanes, they need to start swimming lessons. Ok, my bad, I didn’t look at their schedule to see what they had going etc., but it just irked me. There wasn’t another lane to switch to. There were 2 other people in all the lanes, and I’m not a fan of circle swimming. I guess I need to become a fan. So, my swimming workout was cut short.

I came home, ate some breakfast and I decided I was going to get on my bike, on the bike trainer, in my room, and I wasn’t going to get off that bike until my attitude was better. 2 hours and 24 minutes later, I had a better attitude. That was about 46 miles later. I had such an awesome ride.

I started out my ride with an easy 20 minute warm up and then I spent about 1:10:00 in the Big 15 gear for about 5 – 10 min intervals with a 5 min easy in between sweating my guts out, feeling the burn! I LOVED it. Then I would just make longer intervals maybe 5 – 10 minutes in the Big 15 and then 10 minutes in an easy gear. I went through 4 water bottles too.

The only thing that would’ve made this bike ride better was if it was outside, but the wind was blowing like CRAZY. It was blowing in a little rain/snow storm.

I just have to say that if you’re having a crappy day, or you need an attitude adjustment, get out your bike, go for a walk, go for a run, go for a swim, do something active. Get those endorphins flowin’. It’ll make a world of difference!

Jagger...my bike.
2 thoughts on “Attitude Adjustment”

Leave a Reply

