Decisions, Decisions

Oh man, have I got some serious decisions I need to make.

Last year my dad had knee replacement surgery for the second time and he was able to get an early retirement from his work. My dad has always said that after he retires, he and my mom are moving out of Utah. My mom is from Las Vegas and my dad doesn’t like the winter. My dad has always said he wants to move somewhere that when they look at a snowblower, the residents ask what it is.

Well, my dad’s retirement didn’t become official until December. My parents decided that they need to do a few things to the house (fix the roof from the windstorm in Dec) and then they were going to put the house up for sale.

Because I live with my parents, they approached me on this topic. First off, I don’t live with my parents because I want to. I live with my parents because, even though my job might sound like a kind of important title, I don’t make alot of money. Within the next couple of months, my parents are either going to put the house up for sale, or they said that they would like to buy a motorhome and become snowbirds. Live in Las Vegas for 6 months and live here in Utah for 6 months. If they became snowbirds, that would mean I could stay in the house, I would just have to pay all of the utilities for those 6 months. Maybe get a roommate to help with the utilities?

If my parents choose to sell the house, then I’m out. I honestly don’t know where I’d go. I really don’t want a female roommate. I’ve had female roommates before and just haven’t been a fan. I don’t know if I can trust them to pay their portion of the rent, etc. My sister-in-law has always told me that I can rent their little Rose Petal Cottage that they have in my nieces toy room downstairs. Lol.

Home Sweet Home!

My whole thing is, I’m trying SO desperately to get out of debt. I’ve been making massive payments on all of my bills, come to find out, all the extra is NOT going to principal. I wasn’t happy. I don’t have any money saved up for a downpayment on a house, so it’s not like I can buy my parents house from them. I don’t even WANT to buy their house. I hate the layout of the house. I hate the neighborhood. I’ve lived in this neighborhood my entire life. Everybody knows me since I was like 4 years old. I want to get somewhere where nobody knows me, ya know?

I’m just wondering if maybe I should make the minimum payments on all of my bills and try and move out and get a roommate and then when I get my tax return every year, sink that in to my bills so I can get out of debt.

Gah! I hate making decisions like this. They are NO fun.

8 thoughts on “Decisions, Decisions”

  1. Tough decisions. You should consult a financial advisor, they could help you map out a plan of attack. Sometimes offered as a free service with benefits package at work. Good luck! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

