What My Mom Asked Me

I was absolutely shocked yesterday when my mom asked me “Ara, have you ever thought of becoming a personal trainer?”! Wow! She really doesn’t know alot about my life, does she? Being a personal trainer would be my dream job.

Let me take a few steps back here. Me and my mom don’t get along. Never have. My mom says that even since the day I was born I haven’t felt a need for her. I don’t think it’s that. I just think we are 2 polar opposite people that we don’t get along very often. We do have those good days every once in a while where we’ll do something together, but for the most time, we just don’t do anything together, etc. However, I still discuss with her and my dad things about my life.

I’ve actually looked in to personal training. There is a personal training course that you can take online, but sadly they don’t offer financial aide and I don’t have the money right now to be able to take that course. That is the only course available online. I see online courses as my only way of being able to become a certified personal trainer. If I were to go to a local college or University, there is only so much you can learn online before they take you in to a gym and start teaching you hands on. Because of the job I have now, I get to work between 8:30 – 9:00 a.m. every day and for the most part, I can leave between 5:30 – 6:00 p.m. every day, but that’s not always a guarantee. Plus, I’d have to figure out how I’d get my workouts in so I could continue to train for triathlons. Sadly, right now, I don’t see me achieving my dream job.

Leave a Reply

