Dream Job

Some people find it odd that there is something I’ve always wanted to do as a part of my dream job. I’ve always wanted to have a job where I get to travel. I’ve always wanted to have a job where I have to go to different conferences, business meetings, etc. When someone asks where I’m going, I want to be able to say “Oh, I’ve got to go to a conference in Kansas City next month” or something to that effect.

I want to be this lady.

I know alot of people say it’s not all it’s cracked up to be, but when you NEVER get to go on a business trip, I find it very fascinating. I mean, I’m just a pee-on at my job.

I found myself being VERY jealous of my brother this week. I was emailing him and then when he emailed me back he said “You know, I’m in Tucson this week, so bare with me if it takes longer for me to respond to your emails.”. He works for a plumbing/sprinkler company as a corporate salesman. He got to go to Tucson to get a tour of the Rainbird factory. About 2 months ago he got to fly to San Diego to go to an expo with a bunch of other companies like his.

I kind of think my job is kind of important. I process payroll for a MAJOR retailer in the United States. I find it a more important job than being a cashier at Fred Meyer. Wouldn’t you think so? But guess what? If you had to pick between the 2 jobs, which one you would go on more business trips? I went on 2, almost 3 business trips when I was a CASHIER at Fred Meyer. I haven’t gone on ONE business trip since I worked for the company I’m at now, and I’ve been there 8 years.

I just find that odd. So, how do I get a job/career where I get to travel and go to business meetings? Anybody have suggestions?

Leave a Reply

