Eating Out

This kind of has to do with my previous post of “I Need to Eat More”. I’m such a foodie. I LOVE food. I love healthy food, I love food that isn’t good for you. I love sweet, salty, I just love food. Honestly, there is still a fat girl hiding inside me.

Earlier this week, I called home while I was at work. I was bored. First thing out of my mouth when I call home is “What are you doing?” I don’t know why. It just is. I guess that’s my way of starting a conversation. My dad answered with “Eating dinner.” So naturally I asked “What are you eating?” They had gone to a local restaurant and got burgers & fries for dinner. The night before, they’d go to Little Ceasar’s and got one of their $5 pizza’s and crazy bread.

For some reason, it really struck a chord with me and made me mad at my parents for eating out twice that week so far. It hurt my feelings. I had a Smart Ones sitting in the freezer at work ready to be warmed up for dinner. I actually got mad at my dad on the phone and hung up on him. I believe some of my words were “That’s not fair! Do you know how long it’s been since I’ve had a cheeseburger and fries?” His response was “Who’s fault is that?”

You see, my parents don’t get the “eating healthy” thing. Even though I’ve been doing this for 3 years, they just don’t get it. I’m not sure if they ever will. My dad is 100+ lbs over weight and my mom is at least 50 lbs over weight. When I ask them if they want to go to the gym with me, their excuses crack me up. I think part of the reason they crack me up is because I’ve used those excuses before.

Anywho, it just feels like they’re rubbing it in when they go out to eat. They know how bad I would LOVE to have a big juicy burger and fries right now. I’ve actually been talking with my dad about it. But, like I said in my previous post about food, even if it were on my “cheat” day, if I were to go out for a burger and fries/onion rings, I would feel SO guilty.

Apollo Burger is my favorite!

I would’ve been better off if they would’ve lied to me when they told me what they had for dinner. Tell me you had a salad or something. It just hurts when they eat that kind of food and here I am struggling to eat healthy. Even though I’ve been doing this for 3 years, some days are better than others and I still have a hard time with what I put in my mouth.

5 thoughts on “Eating Out”

  1. Ha ha, I can so relate! My parents don’t get it either. They praise me for how healthy I have become and for losing a lot of weight and teaching my kids healthy habits. Yet, they continue to have crap around their house. It’s worse when you have kids too. Despite praising me for how I have raised my kids, all they do is feed my kids non-stop and mostly junk when we visit! Ugh! Their excuse, “We are their grandparents and deserve to spoil them.” That doesn’t mean feeding them everything under the sun and undoing the good habits I have taught them. It just shows them it is ok to go splurge all out. I don’t mind the little treat here and there. Totally understand that but not an all out junk raid day after day.

    1. That’s exactly how my parents are too. They always say that they want to become healthy, etc., but then they eat the way they eat. It just hurts to see them do that in front of me. You’d think after 3 years I’d be used to it.

  2. It’s always SUPER hard for me on the food – but I just promise myself that I CAN treat myself occasionally. You have done AMAZINGLY well.. keep strong and TREAT yourself every once in a while. 😉

Leave a Reply

