Best Cure Ever

As some of you have noticed from my tweets or from Facebook, I’ve been battling a chest cold. It has been no fun.

It started with my dad having pneumonia. With me living with my parents, it’s just bound to travel through the entire family. No matter how you try to avoid it, no matter how much hand sanitizer you use, no matter how much you cover your mouth when you cough and/or sneeze, if you live in the same house with someone who’s sick, you’re gonna get it eventually.

However, I’m more proactive than both of my parents are when it comes to treating colds, and that’s why I’m almost over mine and it hasn’t turned to pneumonia. My mom is now sick with pneumonia as well. So, I thought I’d share with you what I do when I get a cold. This will work great for my non-Mormon friends, who will drink alcohol. My Mormon friends, everything but the alcohol part should still work awesome though.

First thing, I run (almost literally) to the store and if it’s a head cold, I buy Zicam tablets and take them every 3 hours, even in the middle of the night. I set the alarm on my phone, wake up to take the Zicam tablet and go back to bed. I also take regular cold medicine as directed on the box. If you can afford it, get Mucinex. That works best, but it’s insanely expensive.

Since what I’ve had has been a chest cold, no nasal congestion, nothing, I’ve been taking cough syrup every 4 hours. I am SO not a cough syrup drinker. The stuff tastes terrible. When I bought this cough syrup (Fred Meyer’s version of Robitussin DM Max), it said it has a great cherry flavor. I thought about contacting the company for false advertisement because I’ve never eaten a cherry that tastes like that. Lol.

I'm even getting better at not making funny/nasty faces when I drink it.

Last but not least, when I get a cold, I drink at least one hot toddy a day. What consists of a hot toddy? I get an 8 oz mug, put boiling water in it, 3 1/2 tablespoons whisky (the cheap stuff works), a little bit of honey, and lemon juice. Then you sip on that. It honestly doesn’t taste too bad either. I’ve had 3 hot toddy’s in the past 2 days and they honestly make a world of difference. I’m not sure exactly what is in the hot water, whisky, honey & lemon juice, but it works. It worked last time I got sick too. I’ll be going back to the gym tomorrow.


I got my Hot Toddy recipe from Keys on Main (shocker!). I went there one time and had them make me one because I was sick and was surprised at how well it helped.

If any of you try my methods, let me know how they work for you. I’d be interested in knowing if they work as well for you as they do for me.

Leave a Reply

