First Race of the Season

My first race of the season was this last Saturday.

A month ago my sister-in-law told me that my neices came home from school SO excited because their elementary school was having a 5k and that Aunt Ara should do it! I believe their words were “She’s so fast, she’ll win it!”

Of course I had to sign up. How could I not sign up when my neices say something like that? It was only $15 and you got a t-shirt.

I’m training for a marathon right now, so Saturday came and I actually had to run a total of 10 miles. I decided to run 7 miles before the race because my boyfriend was coming up for the 5k and I didn’t want to leave him alone with my parents while I went & ran 7 more miles after the race.

I ran the 7 miles on the track up at the gym and it was rough. My first 7 miles took me about 1:11:00. My legs were just slow. My calves felt really tight. My legs just weren’t feeling it that day. I was super nervous about having to go and run another 3 miles after I got done.

Once we got to the race, it was good. I sized up my competition when I got there, and there were some other runners there, but for the most part, they were kids from the school. I just wanted to make my neices proud of me.

It was SO cute. My neices made signs that said “GO ARA! YOU CAN DO IT! GO ARA!” Then, right before the race started, my 4 yr old nephew looked at his mom and pointed to me & said “I’m going with her.” Lol. I wish he could have, but I don’t think he would’ve made it all 3 miles.

The race started out flat, for about 2 minutes and then we had to climb a steep hill. I’ve ran this hill before, and this time was the first time I actually ran it fairly well. Then there were rolling gradual hills for about a mile, then downhill for about 1/4 mile then flat the rest of the way. I was hauling ass going downhill, trying to make up for some of the time that I knew I’d lost going uphill.

Sadly, I don’t know what I placed. Because it was just a small race (maybe 25 people total), they only gave out 1st place prizes and that wasn’t me. But, I finished the 3.1 miles in about 28 minutes. So, I ran all 10 miles total that day at a 9:47 pace. I was pleased.

The downhill portion of the race.

I hope I did my neices proud.

Olivia (age 8) & Paula (age 10)
Leave a Reply

