Anxiety & Alcohol

Last weekend when I was at Keys on Main, I didn’t have too much to drink, I think I only had 3 beers. But, Sunday I felt some anxiety. I’ve read many times that alcohol & anxiety are not a good combination. I’ve read that alcohol can cause your anxiety and depression to be worse.

This weekend I decided to do an experiment. Last night when I went to Keys on Main, I didn’t have one alcoholic drink. I wanted to see if I could really see a noticeable difference in my anxiety & depression today. All I had to drink last night was two Buckler beers (Non-alcoholic). I can’t tell you how bad I wanted to have a pint of Bud Lite or get a bottle of Michelob Ultra. But, I stuck to my guns last night.

Today, honestly, I don’t know if I can tell a difference or not. It was nice waking up without having a dry mouth though. πŸ™‚ I usually have anxiety every Sunday night because of my job situation, so I honestly can’t tell you if my anxiety would be worse or not if I had beer last night or not.

I know some people who can’t tell a difference in their anxiety/depression when they have alcohol or not. It’s honestly a personal choice. What works best for one, might not work for another. I do know one thing though, I do need to cut back on my alcohol content.

Leave a Reply

