Running Pace

Yesterday my workout was to run 4 miles. Until yesterday, I’ve been bundling up and running outside, but with snow on the ground and alot of black ice, I decided to go up to the gym and run at the indoor track.

The track is not the best running situation, but I’ll take what I can get right now. I’m not a HUGE fan of the track because it’s such a small track that the turns in the track are hard on the torque on your hip and can cause hip issues. When I’ve run on the track before, I haven’t had hip issues though, so I’m not too terribly worried. I’d run on the treadmill, but treadmills hate me. It seems when I run on the treadmill, my foot strike is too hard; therefore I get shin splints.

Anywho…so I had a long day at work, came home and helped my parents with the baby they’re babysitting lately and then after the baby went home, I headed up to the gym. To run 4 miles on the indoor track, I had to do 36 laps. I had my iPod, I had my heart rate monitor, I had my water bottle, I was set.

Off I ran. As I ended up 9th lap (mile 1), I looked at my watch and I ran my first mile in 9:27!!! Holy crap! I couldn’t believe it. I was only hoping to run at a 10:00 minute mile the whole time. As I rounded the corner to finish up mile 2, I looked at my watch again, and I ran my second mile in 9:25. I was shocked! I didn’t want to get my hopes up though.

During miles 3 and 4, my legs were getting tired. I could feel it. I didn’t know how fast, or should I say slow, I was going. I didn’t pay attention to my watch because I didn’t want to disappoint myself. I just wanted to finish.

I was haivng a hard time breathing too. I’ve been struggling with sleeping lately, so earlier in the day I had a can of soda for the caffeine. Soda doesn’t bother some runners, but it definitely bothers me. I can definitely tell when I’ve had carbonation. I don’t feel like I’m getting enough air. The only time I can have carbonation is if I know I’m going to drink a TON of water before I go workout.

All in all it ended up being a good run. I ran 4 miles in 38:38. That gave me a 9:37 pace!!! I was shocked! I haven’t run in probably 2 1/2 weeks because of shin splints, so I didn’t expect to come back so strong. I kind of wonder if it was a one time deal though. We’ll see. I’ve got to run 4 miles tomorrow morning. We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

