Tomorrow Is a Big Day

Tomorrow is a big day, for many reasons. I’m actually kinda nervous & feeling anxious about the day.

One reason tomorrow is a big day is I get to start running again. The end of 2011 and the beginning of 2012 seemed to be all about injuries. In November 2011 I learned I tore a muscle in my hip, so I had to lay off running for 5 weeks. At the same time, I had shin splints. I got shin splints from doing alot of downhill running.

Finally, December I was able to start running again. I was SO excited. My personal trainer was really good about easing me back in to running. My first week back in to running I only ran 2 miles at a time. I started out with a really slow pace, but by week 2, I was back to running a 10 minute mile again.

Week 3, I was running, and because I live in Utah, and don’t have proper winter running apparel, I had been running on a treadmill. I stepped off the treadmill and immediate pain in my shin. Holy crap, shin splints…AGAIN!!! It’s so frustrating. Bring on the KT Tape & compression socks.ImageImage

I’ve been wearing my compression socks 24/7 since December. Have no fear, I have been washing them every couple of days. Ha ha! My shins were feeling pretty good on Christmas Day, so I went out for a quick 6 mile run and I wore my compression socks, but sadly I think that just put me one step back. The shins started to hurt every so often during the run, but I was able to make it through the run without any pain, but haven’t been able to run since.

I’m sure another reason for my shin splints is my shoes. My shoes were 6 months old. I go through shoes REALLY fast. I honestly think I need new shoes about every 3 – 4 months. We’ll see if I can afford that. But, I went to Salt Lake Running Company and bought me some new shoes & I put inserts in the shoes too.

Image

These are Brooks Adrenaline GTS shoes. They are the same shoes I had last season. I’m sure I’ll need a new pair of shoes before my marathon in May.

I really dreaded telling B.J. (my personal trainer) that I had shin splints again. I put it off as long as possible. I was afraid I was going to disappoint him, since lately it seems like it’s been one injury right after another. Last week I finally told B.J. that I had shin splints again and I even told him that I hope I was disappointing him. He emailed me back & said I wasn’t disappointing him at all & he is helping me get through them.

My shins haven’t been hurting for about a week now, so I get to start running again tomorrow. I’ll definitely be taping up for the run. I can’t wait to get out & start running again, but I’m scared to death. I’m afraid I’m not going to be as fast and good as I used to be.

Another reason tomorrow is a big day is because I find out if I get a promotion at work or not. I’m trying really hard to not get my hopes up, but at the same time, I feel it’s time that some good things happen, you know? I’ll have to write another post about my job, ’cause it could probably get wordy. 🙂

I hope everybody’s had a good weekend & I hope your Monday is just awesome!

Leave a Reply

