Welcome & the Reason Behind this Blog

Last week was a SUPER bad week and ever since last week I have felt very compelled to create this blog. The whole point of this blog is to help me & if I’m lucky, be able to help others.

Probably 20 years ago, I was diagnosed as bi-polar manic depressive & anxiety. Ever since then I have been on medication. Like your body does with anything, my body has become immune to certain medications. Lately, the anxiety has been SO bad that I just couldn’t handle it any more. There are things going on at work that don’t help. I was finally able to get in contact with my doctor and he has up’d the meds I’m taking and prescribed me another medication in case I have a SUPER bad anxiety/panic attack.

During this last week, the only thing that seemed to stay constant in my life was my triathlons and working out. At one time, all I wanted to do last week was go run. I knew if I went running, that would solve everything. Well, it would solve everything for the time that I was running. Sadly, I’ve got shin splints right now, but give it time, I’ll be back!

This blog is going to be a place where I share what helps and what doesn’t help with my anxiety & depression. It will also chronicle my triathlon training. 🙂 I hope you enjoy it. I hope this helps you as much as it helps me.

1 thought on “Welcome & the Reason Behind this Blog”

  1. I’ve been struggling with my bipolar and depression for as long as I remember. I had a bad mixed episode this summer with a bunch of medication switches and side effect problems. I too have a problem with becoming immune to the anti-anxiety medication. Luckily I have a great doctor and was able to avoid hospitalization.
    Like you I used working out to combat my illness. Even if you can’t run there may be other things you can do. I’m still getting into shape and it is difficult to run. I really depended on yoga when I was sick because besides the workout it really helped settle the mind.

Leave a Reply

