Thoughts on Valentine’s Day

Valentines dayI really dislike when people say Valentine’s Day isn’t about gifts, etc. and that people dislike Valentine’s Day. To some of us, it’s a BIG deal! Especially this year.

This is the first year ever that I’ve had a significant other on Valentine’s Day. I’m 34 yrs old & this is the first relationship I’ve had that has lasted more than a couple of months.

Rob and I have been together for almost 1 year now (It’ll be a year in April). A lot has happened in that year that has brought us closer together, so I’m SUPER excited that today is Valentine’s Day. Too bad we don’t have the money to do anything for Valentine’s Day. We’re going to get a free movie from RedBox tonight and a $5 pizza for dinner. Woohoo!!! Sigh.

I know I should be grateful that we’re at least doing something, but one year I just want to have an all out fabulous Valentine’s Day, ya know?

I was caught off guard last night when I was in the bedroom and Rob was in the living room helping the kids with homework & he sends me a text asking if I want to go to dinner tonight. It caught me off guard because he has previously told me he doesn’t like Valentine’s Day. I responded with “I don’t know. Why?” He said “Because it’s V-Day.” We went back and forth and I asked why because he doesn’t like Valentine’s Day and his response was “Yes or no?” Lol. I was able to talk him out of going out tonight just because the restaurants are going to be PACKED and I don’t want to wait in line, etc. So, we’re going out to dinner Saturday night (to some place he won’t tell me) and my parents are going to watch the kids. I’m pretty excited.

It just really irritates me when people are like “it’s not about the gifts. I just want them to love me, blah, blah, blah”, ya know?

So, I hope you all have a VERY Happy Valentine’s Day! I sure will.

How are you going to celebrate Valentine’s Day?

3 thoughts on “Thoughts on Valentine’s Day

  1. I’ve been married for 7 years, we don’t make a big show out of the day.. but we take the opportunity to be extra sweet to each other. I woke early and made him french toast for breakfast. When I came home from work there was a bottle of wine and shrimp. It was sweet! Glad that you two got to celebrate!

  2. Pingback: Put A Ring On It | triing2survive

Leave a Reply

