Burnt Out

This morning I came to the conclusion that I am just burnt out. I’m burnt out with life in general.

For the past 5 wks, I’ve been going to school full time (2 classes a week, 4 nights a week). That might not seem like a lot to some people, but that is A LOT for my life and what I’ve got going on.

Yesterday, I got up at 7:00 a.m., got Manfriend off to work, fed our little zoo (2 guinea pigs, a ferret & a dog) and then had to be to work by 9:00 a.m. Right after work, I have to go to school and be there by 5:45 pm. I didn’t make it home from school last night until 10:00 pm, then still had to eat dinner (that Manfriend graciously prepared) and then head to bed. I wasn’t in bed until close to 11:00 pm. Then, if I have homework, like I’ll have tonight, I’ve got to get that done too. I’m on the go about 16-17 hrs a day. Plus, I have to try & fit a workout in there somewhere too. Sometimes the workout just doesn’t happen.

This morning, both Manfriend and I slept through our alarms (he was almost late to work), and as soon as he was off to work, my head hit the pillow again and I was out like a light! I ended up not getting up until 11:00 a.m. to get ready for work. I came to the conclusion that my body needed the rest. The constant go of my schedule, I need to rest a little bit too.

I was SO proud of myself over the weekend because I had put in to action “Operation No Excuses”, which was I wasn’t going to allow myself any stupid excuse to get out of workouts. Saturday I woke up with a killer headache, but I got up, ate a little something, took 2 Excedrin & I was off to the gym to get my workout in. I wasn’t going to use my headache as an excuse. Sunday, I woke up and my back was KILLING me!!! I had slept funny and got a kink in my back, but I wasn’t going to let that stop me. I still got up & went to the gym and got a 90 min workout in.

I was excited to continue “Operation No Excuses” in to this week, but my body is just TIRED. I’ve decided that until this quarter of school is over (next week!!!), if I get a workout in, that’s great! If I don’t get a workout in, I’m not going to stress over it. Now, this still doesn’t mean that any excuse will do, because it won’t. I’ve got to have a genuine good excuse as to why I’m not getting my workout in.

But, once this quarter is over an I’ve passed these 2 classes, I’ll be back to going to school only twice a week, for 1 class and I think I’ll be able to handle that a lot better. Then, we will put in to play “Operation No Excuses” again.

How do you know your body is just worn out? How do you keep going with your crazy busy schedule?

6 thoughts on “Burnt Out

  1. I seriously applaud those of you that are still in school doing your thing. For me juggling teaching spin classes part time with a full time job/ career does get hectic. I love every minute of it though. Keeps my mind busy and my body going. Wouldn’t have it any other way. I think a good thing to do is have alone time to yourself to reflect and just relax and get your thoughts together. Also why I love yoga and my solo runs during the week. Keep at it though, I know with studying and school it will all be worth it in the end!

  2. Sometimes you need rest! The body is good at letting you know too. Lately when I think I’m about to get sick, my legs will be tremendously sore, like it’ll slog through the grocery store. It’s my body’s signal for me to go home and lay down, relax, which is hard to do sometimes!
    Hope you’re able to find a good balance between go-go-go and rest!

Leave a Reply

