What a Way to End the Year

Wow! It’s been a crazy last couple of days. What a way to send out 2013. Hopefully this means that the new year will start off well (*knock on wood).

Our dryer broke the other day. :( We were doing laundry & the dryer had been going for over an hour and we noticed it wasn’t automatically shutting off. Then, I go to pull all the clothes out of the dryer and they are still wet. :( Boo. My first thought was the heating element went out. I called my dad to get his opinion and he said that’s what it sounded like too.

Manfriend started looking on KSL for a new dryer. NO!!! I didn’t want to spend $100+ on a new/used dryer when it could possibly only cost us about $30 to fix the heating element. Of course all of this happened on a Sunday, so nobody was open that would have a heating element.

I called my dad back and he said he would call around and try and find a heating element for us & he would be willing to fix it for us too. I got a call from my dad yesterday and the cheapest heating element he could find was $60!!! I REALLY didn’t want to spend that much money to fix the dryer, but I had to keep telling myself that it was cheaper than buying a new dryer.

In the meantime, our bathroom was overflowing with dirty laundry! I swear, when the kids are over, they go through SO many clothes!!! Gah!

Finally, my dad came over this morning and was able to fix our dryer for us! Thank you Handyman Dad!!! I don’t know what I’d do if my dad wasn’t willing to fix things for us. He works on our cars, appliances, everything!

If having our dryer break isn’t enough, this morning as I was on my way to the swimming pool for a workout, Manfriend texted me and said that Tank (our doggy) threw up. :(

This little guy isn't feeling well.

This little guy isn’t feeling well.

Manfriend cleaned up the puke and said that Tank seemed to be feeling ok and off to work Manfriend went. When I got home from the pool and until Manfriend got home from work at 10:00 a.m., Tank puked 5 more times!! Poor little guy, you can tell he isn’t feeling well. He’s just not himself. He’s moping around the house and everything.

We’re just praying that within the next day or so he starts feeling well. We can’t afford to take him to the doctor. If he gets dehydrated though, we don’t have much of a choice.

On one last note, with it being New Years Eve, I’m going to get on my soapbox for a minute and tell everyone to PLEASE be safe out there tonight. I’ve worked in the night club industry and I know there is going to be a lot of partying and a lot of drinking going on. PLEASE don’t drink & drive. If you are the designated driver, PLEASE be careful and cautious of other drivers. If you don’t have a designated driver, please get ahold of a taxi or AAA (they offer free designated drivers on NYE).

Please!

Please!


Otherwise, have a Happy New Year and I hope you all have a wonderful 2014!!!
Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!

How are you spending your new year? Do you have a “Mr Fix-It” in your family or do you call a repairman?

2 thoughts on “What a Way to End the Year

  1. Everything seems to come in 3′s….at least that’s been my experience knocking on wood zero happens anytime soon). Hope you get your dryer fixed on the cheap. Can you give the pup Pedialite to make sure he doesn’t get dehydrated? An emergency vets office could tell you for sure.

Leave a Reply

