Long Drive

Sunday is the Onion Man Olympic Distance Triathlon up in Walla Walla, Washington. Tomorrow is packet pickup, so I left and drove up to Walla Walla today.

I’m excited for this race for a couple of reasons. 1. It will be my first BIG race with my new TT bike. 2. I get to meet my friend Jeannie (I met her on Twitter). 3. It is only my second olympic distance triathlon. My first Olympic tri was the Jordanelle triathlon last year. It didn’t go too well because I didn’t fuel my body properly during the bike, so by the time I got to the run, I was done for. Well, this time, I’m forcing myself to fuel myself. SO excited.

I was NOT looking forward to driving up to Walla Walla. Mapquest said it was an 8 hour, 55 minute drive. Ugh. Alot of the drive was through Idaho, and if you’ve never driven through Idaho, it is BORING!!!!

Driving through Idaho is alot of desert and alot of potato fields. If I looked to my left, I saw potato farms. If I looked to my right, oh, more potato farms. Ugh. It seemed like I was in Idaho FOREVER!!!

Thank God for rest stops and truck stops because I definitely needed to get out every so often and stretch my legs and use the bathroom.

Once I made it up to Oregon, it was beautiful. It reminded me alot of Seattle. Everything was SO green. I tried to take pictures with my phone, but it just doesn’t do it justice.

It was raining cats and dogs in Oregon. No wonder it’s always green up there. The only thing is, with the Cascade Mountains, once you’ve seen about a 1 mile stretch of it, you’ve seen it all. So, that got old really quick. Thanks to the rain though, my bike got a good washing.

Now, this drive was only an 8 hour drive, but it seemed ALOT longer than that. Driving from my house to Las Vegas is only 7 1/2 – 8 hours, but this drive today seemed alot longer. A couple of years ago (probably 5 years) I drove myself down to Southern California and that is a 13 hour drive and it didn’t seem as long. I’m definitely NOT looking forward to the drive home.

P.S. Why does Oregon have such a weird law that you can’t pump your own gas?

2 thoughts on “Long Drive

  1. I love the name of the race! That does sound like a long drive, though! Good luck at the tri. And NJ also does not let you pump your own gas. I like it though b/c I hate pumping gas. Plus, their prices are always lower, which is a bonus!

Leave a Reply

